11:33  AMT,  October 11, 2017

UEFA Nations League: Armenia to compete in League D

After completion of the qualifiers for the 2018 World Cup football finals to be played in Russia, the makeup of the divisions—called “Leagues”—of the UEFA Nations League has became clear.

The UEFA Nations League is an international association football competition to be contested by the senior men’s national teams of the member associations of UEFA, the sport’s European governing body.
Accordingly, Armenia are in the last division, League D, which comprises the national squads with the lowest UEFA rankings.

A total of 55 nations will compete in four leagues (A, B, C, D) in this competition, and the group stage draws will be held on January 24, 2018 in Lausanne, Switzerland. During these draws, however, Armenia and Azerbaijan as well as Russia and Ukraine cannot be in the same group.
The UEFA Nations League group stage matches will kickoff in September 2018, and the winner will become known in June 2019.

In addition, four spots for the Euro 2020 finals will be up for grabs in the UEFA Nations League competition.

Follow NEWS.am SPORT on Facebook and Twitter

Thank you for your comment. Your comment must be confirmed by the administration.

  • Related News

  • Poll
Who will win World Cup 2018?
Other team
  • Facebook
  • NEWS.am Sport Exclusive
  • Archive